100 Years of Dan yr Ogof Exploration
by PCW ~, 22 August 2012
On the 21st August 1912 brothers Ashwell and Jeff Morgan first ventured up
the river Llynfell and began to open up Dan yr Ogof. Having climbed up out of
the river, they very soon found their way blocked by a deep lake. They returned
the next day with another brother Edwin, Morgan Williams (their gamekeeper)
and a coracle. . .
News have articles on the subject.
What they went on to find is legendary, as are the discoveries made in the decades
between then and now. Most notably around 50 years later Eileen Davies and others
pushed through the Long Crawl to discover the splendours beyond. Read the 1966
Observer article with pictures by Alan Coase.
Here are some more recent
pictures - and there is still more to be found . . .
The Morgan brothers and their coracle in Dan yr Ogof